top of page

An early Halloween? Trick or treat

I woke up not knowing what to think…. This was going to be one hell of an operation. Unfortunately I was stupid enough of doing myself the favour of watching the operation on YouTube last night…. This operation was going to be done under very basic anaesthesia and I can confidently say that I was shitting myself before entering the operation theatre.

Somehow in the back of my mind, I was able to tell myself that everything is going to be fine and that the operation will be done before I know it.

It was the first 30 minutes of the operation and I could already feel the blood dripping down my arm. I was then covered with sheets and from what I remember in the video, this is where it all goes downhill. Fudge. I heard a razor blade turn on (no joke, like the one in scary movies), I was living halloween a few weeks before the actual day and I didn’t think this would be a good treat.

I felt the razor blade cut open the left side of my chest and words cannot describe the pain I went through, surprisingly I didn’t cry but I yelled like no tomorrow.

I remember feeling like I flying around the room, I was in so much pain that I was hallucinating. Shortly after, I passed out… I woke up and remember asking my Dr how long more? He looked at me with a smile on his face and said “Kj, I’m really sorry but were only half way through the operation” I wanted to cry when I heard that because I think I suffered enough pain for the day.

An hour and a half after, the operation was finally done and I just wanted some food. I was wheeled back to my ward and I couldn’t feel the left side of my body.

Goodnight. I fell asleep. No food, just pain for me please.

To read the next part of my story, click the link below -

 The importance of being an organ donor! 

The fact that signing up to be an Organ donor you could save up to eight human beings from dying is a bigger positive than you can imagine. Saving a humans life is one of the things people can sometimes only imagine of doing. Through the act of Organ Donation, YOU can change this. 

 

Organ Donation gives everyone the ability to save a life. In fact, your eyes could help someone you’ve never met see the world. Your organs could make someone on the edge of dying get their breath back. Organ Donation mostly takes place after a signed up Organ Donor has passed. There is an extremely large gap between the number of registered donors compared to those awaiting Organ Donation world wide. 

 

The way I look at it is like this - when you were a child, you probably had the idea of one day wanting to be a Super-hero. Once you pass, you will no longer be needing those organs and they could be put to great use by saving another human beings life. When a person receives an Organ Transplant, not only do you become their hero, but you also become a hero to the many people involved in his/her life. 

Sign up to be an Organ Donor in Hong Kong today!Click the image below -
bottom of page