top of page

Missing my Grandmothers funeral

This summer has been an extreme roller coaster for my family and I. Sadly, in June my grandmother passed away… My grandma was extremely close to all 7 of us grandchildren and she always taught us that family came first. She would make it a point that every week the 15 of us would meet, either for a meal or just to catch up (with the exception of the children who were studying abroad or if someone was out of town). My family has a bond like I’ve never seen in other families, no matter what, we always have each others backs - for us, Family really does come first.

Although she passed away in June, due to medical complications, we were not allowed to cremate her body straight after she passed. We had to wait 90 days before exposing her body to any sort of heat.

The 90 days was now over, and the mourning of my grandmas passing was just about to start. As indians we tend to have prayers for 12 days straight and with me being stuck in ICU it wasn’t looking like I was going to attend any of the 12 days. My family from India and Philippines flew down for the 12 days. Sadly instead of being able to say my final goodbye to my grandmother and be there to support everyone in my family, I was sitting in a bed connected to multiple lines of medication and unable to walk or leave the bed.

Thankfully, I was lucky enough to spend time with my grandmother right before she passed and im sure she was there above me in spirit making sure that I would be fine throughout everything I would have to face and had already faced.

To read the next part of my story, click the link below -

 The importance of being an organ donor! 

The fact that signing up to be an Organ donor you could save up to eight human beings from dying is a bigger positive than you can imagine. Saving a humans life is one of the things people can sometimes only imagine of doing. Through the act of Organ Donation, YOU can change this. 

 

Organ Donation gives everyone the ability to save a life. In fact, your eyes could help someone you’ve never met see the world. Your organs could make someone on the edge of dying get their breath back. Organ Donation mostly takes place after a signed up Organ Donor has passed. There is an extremely large gap between the number of registered donors compared to those awaiting Organ Donation world wide. 

 

The way I look at it is like this - when you were a child, you probably had the idea of one day wanting to be a Super-hero. Once you pass, you will no longer be needing those organs and they could be put to great use by saving another human beings life. When a person receives an Organ Transplant, not only do you become their hero, but you also become a hero to the many people involved in his/her life. 

Sign up to be an Organ Donor in Hong Kong today!Click the image below -
bottom of page